top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

What To Wear (or The Basics & Summer Trends)


Today, we're talking about a couple of this that are confusing the heck out of me: what I need to have in my closet as "staples" and the 2016 summer fashion trend. OK, first things first. The whole issue about "staples" has been confusing to me since I began working. When I got my firs job, my mother told me, "You need to have some basic staples in your wardrobe, so you can Today's blog is about clearing the confusion in (only?) my mind about "staples" and the 2016 summer fashion trend. This has confused me for many years. When I got my first job, my mother said, "you'll need to have some staples in your closet so you can be versatile." Does anyone else remember "The Wardrober" suit? It was a four-piece women's suit, consisting of a jacket/blazer, vest, skirt, and pants. By investing in a wardrober, you could mix and match outfits for several days! This, too, was my mother's point about "staples." These were basic items every woman should have in their closet, in order to mix and match (be "versatile").

Let's talk basics. You want to build a strong foundation with a selection that will mix with almost every clothing item you own. Some of these items are mentioned (and my confusion alleviated) in an article in Real Simple magazine, The Essentials of a Well-Balanced Wardrobe.

The 2016 Summer Trends in Plus-Size Clothing seems to be (rightfully so) in the direction of staying cool and looking good! Thankfully, there are plenty of breezy and flattering plus-size fashions to wear for summer. This makes it less difficult getting dressed for the day.

The summer styles include:

  • Bright Hues - choose pieces in bright fresh summer colors, like sorbet orange and watermelon pink (I love both!). you can go bold with one bright hue or mix for a color-block effect. Don't forget those colored jeans, too!

  • Great lengths - The maxi look is really trending in both skirts AND dresses. They flow well and keep you cool in the heat. A great thing about them is you can wear them casually or dress them up with accessories or a lightweight jacket.

  • White: My mother always said, "You can't wear white after Labor Day." Well, wear it all summer long! It's a cool and chic color choice. Don't be afraid to wear white-on-white, which looks good day or night.

  • Wedge shoes - they're back! Of course, heels give you a slimmer look. These updated retro shoes offer more support to your foot than a pump, and are comfortable enough to wear all day. These, too, can go from day to evening.

You can find versatility, too, in summer wear. Dress up a basic sundress - wear it belted, with sandals during the day; dress it up with heels and a pretty piece of jewelry for dinner. Whether you wear a lightweight blouse, colorful jeans, or a maxi skirt, these are all great "staples" that can be worn and styled several ways.


bottom of page