top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Taking care of ourselves


My last blog focused on ways to live more positive and successful lives, and ways that can be accomplished. But are we being truthful to ourselves? Many times, spiritual leaders tell us to pray "stronger and harder" to release the "demons" from our bodies and minds. I admit, prayer and meditation helps me with clarity, but cannot be the only answer when one has deep-seated issues.

After my mother passed away in 2011, it seemed like I began crying ALL THE TIME. I couldn't believe it! Not me, I thought. In my competitive career world, I made it a habit of informing others that, "Ice runs through MY veins." What is happening to me? This went on for quite a while, and I kept making excuses for the crying, the moodiness, and the forgetfulness. Well, needless to say, my family had had it with me. They encouraged me to seek medical help.

As I sat in the doctor's office, I reflected about what I was going to tell him and wait for him to laugh at me, or (worse) look at me strangely. As I began to describe what was going on and how I was feeling, he didn't do anything as I thought. He actually told me it's not uncommon for those who have gone through a traumatic experience, under stress, or in a certain age group, to have these types of emotions. But even better, he assured me I was not alone. After a thorough examination, he prescribed a medication that would help with my changing moods. I can attest the medicine has been one of the best things that ever happened to me!

How many of us are in denial about our mental health, because we're afraid to be stigmatized and labeled as "crazy?" In a recent article on Ivanka Trump's website, renown clinical psychologist Dr. Lauren Hazzouri writes about anxiety and depression. Also, she gives a list of signs to look for. If you or someone you know may be struggling with life changes, I encourage you to read her article. For me, finding out was life-altering for the better. It is my sincere hope this, too, will help you.

Peace & Love,

Vanessa

bottom of page